top of page

The one with an accent

Week two marked the beginning of classes... and me having to face the fact that I can't just sit back and not draw attention to myself.


My first class was about 40 people in a small classroom. Our instructor asked us each to say our name, where we're from, our favorite animal and then use 3 adjectives to describe that animal. I'm not a fan of meaningless group introductions anyway, but now add the fact that this time I'm the one with an accent. While I didn't come here thinking I'd blend in, (clearly none of my features resemble that of an Irish girl) there was just something about speaking in front of a class that made me feel like I'd be sitting under a big red white and blue spotlight.


"My name is Christina"


For the first time in my life I was so aware of every syllable that came out of my mouth. I knew everyone heard my accent just as clearly as I perceived theirs.


"and I'm from Texas"


I go to Purdue, I'm no stranger to being the only Texan in a room. However, the Irish whispers behind me began as soon as the s in Texas was off my lips, and suddenly home felt much further than normal.





Despite the undesired attention that comes with having an accent, the reminder that home is far away is actually somewhat appreciated. Ireland is similar to America in a lot of ways, but I continue to find little things that remind me that I'm not at home.


Like when I dip my chicken nuggets in "spicy tomato dip."

Or when I look for eggs at the store and have to remind myself to stop looking in refrigerators because here they're sold on dry shelves.

When I come to a crosswalk and have to rethink everything I've ever known to figure out which way to look since the cars drive on the left side.

Or when I hop on a bus after class and within 30 minutes am at the seaside, climbing the Irish landscape with sheep to my right and seagulls to my left.



I didn't come to Ireland to feel at home. What fun would it be if I came all this way and didn't hike along the seaside? Because surely I wouldn't be doing that at home.


I've done some research on the best places in and around Dublin. Coffee, restaurants, churches, outdoor activities, literary attractions... things I can do and places I can visit on slow mornings or after my midday classes. I'm making some lists with the idea of keeping myself motivated to cross things off.


Two weeks have already flown by; before I know it, four months will be behind me. It's time to try as much food as I can, and see as many sights as my feet (and transportation card) can take me. If I'm gonna be the one with an accent, I might as well make the most of my time away from home.



bottom of page